Today, the Formosa 2 Offshore Wind Farm celebrated the start of onshore construction with a groundbreaking ceremony in Miaoli County. Once constructed, Formosa 2 will be one of the earliest offshore wind farms in Taiwan and will generate enough green electricity for over 380,000 households per year.

Formosa 2 is a 376MW offshore wind farm project, jointly developed by Macquarie’s Green Investment Group ("GIG") and Swancor Renewables, and is located 4-10 kilometers offshore from Miaoli County. Onshore construction will begin imminently and will be managed by Taiwanese company Fortune Electric, who are responsible for the construction of the onshore substation and cable system required to connect the wind farm to the local electricity network. Offshore construction will begin in Spring 2020, with Jan De Nul responsible for the foundations and submarine cable system and Siemens Gamesa providing 47 x 8MW wind turbines.

"We are very pleased to announce the start of construction of Formosa 2 and to have the opportunity to celebrate with our construction partners, central and local government and local community representatives" States Kimberly Cram, Senior Vice President Macquarie’s GIG and Project Director of Formosa 2. "Formosa 2 is a great example of how experienced local and international companies can work together in order to deliver world class energy projects and bring benefit to the local region."

Earlier this year Formosa 2 contributed NT$119 million stamp tax to Miaoli County upon signing of its construction projects. To date Formosa 2 has signed more than 70 contracts with local companies and has also cooperated with local universities including sponsoring an offshore wind related university programme with the NUU.

Notes to editors
*Macquarie Capital has announced it will now develop and invest in green energy projects in Taiwan through Macquarie's Green Investment Group (GIG) platform. GIG is Macquarie's global platform for principal investment in the green economy and its mission is to accelerate the transition to a greener global economy. For more information about GIG, please see below.

About Green Investment Group and Macquarie Group

Macquarie's Green Investment Group (GIG) is a specialist in green infrastructure principal investment, development, project delivery, and the management of portfolio assets, and related services. Its track record, expertise and capability make it a global leader in green investment, dedicated to supporting the growth of the global green economy.

The institution was initially launched by the UK Government in 2012 as the Green Investment Bank (GIB) - the first institution of its type in the world. It was purchased by Macquarie in 2017 and combined with Macquarie Capital's renewables team to create one of the world's largest teams of specialist green investors. Now operating as Macquarie's Green Investment Group, the platform has more than 400 staff working in over 15 countries across Europe, North America, Asia and Australia, combining international best practice from across Macquarie's activities.

Across the globe, GIG has supported 16 offshore wind projects, representing over 4.5 GW of operating capacity including almost 50% of the UK's offshore wind capacity in operations or under construction.

Macquarie Group Limited (Macquarie) is a diversified financial group providing clients with asset management and finance, banking, advisory and risk and capital solutions across debt, equity and commodities. Founded in 1969, Macquarie employs 15,715 people in 30 markets. At 31 March 2019, Macquarie had assets under management of £305.8 billion.

For more information, visit www.greeninvestmentgroup.com and www.macquarie.com.

About Swancor Renewable

Swancor Renewable is a leading Taiwanese offshore wind developer, pioneering the sector in Taiwan through the development of Formosa I (128MW – to be fully operational by end of 2019), Formosa II (376MW – Financial Close in October 2019) and Formosa III (2.0GW – under development). Swancor Renewable is focused on the development, construction and operation of offshore wind farms in Taiwan and the region. Swancor Renewable owns 25% of Formosa II and with the support of Stonepeak Infrastructure Partners, its equity investor, will continue to play a leadership role in the offshore wind sector in Taiwan and across Asia.

Media contacts
Swancor Renewable Energy Media Contact

Ella Lu | ella.lu@swancor-renewable.com | +886 2 27751387

Macquarie

Ida Cheung | ida.cheung@macquarie.com | +852 3922 3615
Janet Jin | janet.jin@macquarie.com | +852 3922 4772

Weber Shandwick

Yvonne Tan | Ytan@webershandwick.com | +886 932-932-512
Shanice Liu | Sliu4@webershandwick.com | +886 970-764-176

海能風電(Formosa 2)今(8)日於苗栗縣舉行盛大陸域工程動土典禮。在海能風電完工商轉後,將成為台灣最早的離岸風場之一,未來每年將提供全台38萬戶家庭用電。

海能風場由麥格理綠投資集團*及上緯新能源共同開發,風電場址位於苗栗縣外海約4-10公里處。陸域工程即將開始施工,由華城電機負責完成陸域升變壓站及相關設備建置以併聯台電電網。海事工程則預計2020年春季開始,由比利時商楊德諾有限公司負責水下基礎建設和海底電纜,而西門子歌美颯將進行47座8MW風機安裝。

麥格理綠投資集團高級副總裁兼海能風電專案負責人Kimberly Cram 說:「我們很高興宣布海能風電正式步入施工階段,並藉這個機會與我們的工程合作夥伴、中央和地方政府以及在地社區代表共同慶祝。海能風電是一個絕佳例子,證明擁有經驗豐富的在地和國際企業可共同合作、各取所長,致力完成這世界一流的能源項目,與地方共生共榮。」

今年早前海能風電向苗栗縣政府繳交新台幣1.19億元印花稅,迄今為止已與在地供應商簽訂了超過70份合約。海能風電也與多間大學合作,包括與苗栗國立聯合大學合作開展海上風電系列在地人才培育計劃。

編者註
*麥格理資本宣布未來在台灣的綠能投資及開發計畫均將以麥格理綠投資集團(GIG)為平台進行。GIG是麥格理於綠色經濟領域從事本金投資的全球平台,其任務為加速全球綠色經濟轉型。

關於麥格理綠投資集團及麥格理集團

麥格理綠投資集團(GIG)是綠色基礎建設領域中從事本金投資、開發、專案交付、資產組合管理及提供其它相關服務的專家,其往績、專業及能力使其成為綠色資投的全球領導者,致力於協助全球綠色經濟成長。

綠投資集團的前身為英國政府於2012年成立的綠色投資銀行,綠色投資銀行為當時世界上唯一的類似機構,後由麥格理於2017年收購,在與麥格理資本的再生能源團隊結合後,成為麥格理綠投資集團。麥格理綠投資集團擁有全球規模頂尖的專業綠色投資團隊,旗下專家超過400名,遍佈歐洲、北美、亞洲、澳洲等也超過15個國家,成功匯聚麥格理於各領域的國際最佳作法。

麥格理綠投資集團已支持超過16座離岸風電專案,於全球寫下4.5GW的發電量,其中英國離岸風電市場中,營運或在建中的發電容量有超過50%為綠投資集團所參與。

麥格理集團有限公司(麥格理)是一家全球多元化金融集團。麥格理的專業知識涵蓋了債務,股權和商品的資產管理和金融,銀行,諮詢以及風險和資本解決方案。 成立於1969年,麥格理目前在全球擁有超過15,700名員工,在30個市場設有辦事處。截至2019年3月31日,麥格理旗下管理的資產為3,058億英鎊。

有關更多信息, 請至 www.greeninvestmentgroup.com 以及 www.macquarie.com.

關於上緯新能源

上緯新能源是台灣離岸風電之先驅,已開發海洋風電(128MW,預計2019年底商轉),海能風電(376MW,2019年10月完成專案融資)和海鼎風電(2.0GW,正在開發中)。 上緯新能源專注於台灣及亞太地區離岸風場的開發,建設和運營。 上緯新能源]擁有海能風電 25%的股份,並在Stonepeak Infrastructure Partners的支持下,將繼續在台灣及亞洲的離岸風電領域發扮演領導性角色。

媒體聯絡人
上緯新能源媒體窗口

劉銘真Regina Liu | Regina.Liu@swancor-renewable.com | +886 2 27751387

麥格理媒體聯繫人

張凱詩 Ida Cheung | ida.cheung@macquarie.com | +852 3922 3615
金佳怡 Janet Jin | janet.jin@macquarie.com | +852 3922 4772

萬博宣偉公關

李慧瑩 Amy Lee | Alee2@webershandwick.com | +886 935-222-155
黃志浩 Kevin Huang | Khuang2@webershandwick.com | +886 930-933-857